Get into the groove

Ahh, January: the month we love to hate. Let’s be honest now, it’s just rubbish isn’t it?(unless it’s your birthday/you’re having a baby/getting married/lucky enough to be sunning yourself in the Maldives/all of the above – in which case, I salute you.)

Anyway, I digress. I shan’t bore you with a list of seven hundred reasons why I hate this month – instead, I’ll start the New Year, albeit somewhat late, with a selection of pretty things I have been feasting my eyes on in order to beat those bastard blues…

Spotted blouse, £10. Yellow chinos, £11. Skinny belt, £2. Snakeskin court shoes, £10. All from Primark.

 

Now, since the only thing I’ve been working out recently are my tax returns, there is not the slightest chance I’ll get these b-e-autiful jeans around the Christmas-induced junk in my trunk.  If you can though then please BUY them.  Someone has to.  As you may have noticed, polka dots are kinda my thing, so all is not lost and I can at least console myself with the purchase of this top.

 

 

 

 

 

Accessorize Lady Bag, £35.

 

 

This bag is pink. It has gold detail. And it’s called The Lady Bag.  Need I say more?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Foundation Lace Mesh Cardigan, £59. Ivory Linen Short, £45. All from Mint Velvet.

 

Lace? Check. Tailored shorts? Check. Pastel colours? Double check. The only question that remains is why have I never shopped at Mint Velvet before?!

 

 

 

 

Yellow print dress and floral clutch both from Matalan. Price to be confirmed.

 

I’m not strictly sure what the rules are about blondes wearing yellow, but I’ll sure as hell be giving it a go this year. AND I’ll be mixing it up like the best of them with some clashing printed accessories.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Shirt £30, ring £6, both from Next.

 

There is not a single thing I don’t love about this picture. I need a crazy patterned shirt and white skirt in my life. Like, NOW, please.

 

 

 

And just because a) I’m obsessed with homeware right now and b) I couldn’t resist, here are a few little extra treats for the eye…

Glass pillar candle holder, £16. Glass candlestick, £14. Pressed glass votive, £5. Wooden photo frame, £14. All from House of Fraser.

All accessories from Matalan, prices to be confirmed.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Matalan SS12 homeware accessories, prices to be confirmed.

 

 

Anyone else need that bathroom in their life right now? Hydrangeas and hearts and crystals, oh my. And  sailor chic for the home? I think I’ve died a bit…

 

 

Leave a Reply

