Glossy galore

There’s always a risk when venturing out to spend my hard earned cash (well, aright, earned) on ever more new beauty products that what I’m about to buy will a) not work at all on my skin, b) make me break out in a horrendous beard of spots, c) be total rubbish or d) all of the above.

The problem is, I just love nothing more than trying new stuff – face wash, mascara, eyeshadow, fake tan: you name it, I’ll slap it on and hope I wake up looking like Kate Moss. The downside to this, however, is quite simply how much all this stuff ends up costing.

So when I spied something that combined my love for having new things with an affordable price tag, I literally couldn’t whip the old credit card out fast enough (and believe me, it’s just about the only thing I’m quick at).

Enter Glossybox, the one-stop solution to all your cravings for new and indulgent products at a very affordable cost. The concept is simple enough; for £12.95 a month (the box itself is a tenner, the rest is P&P, which is actually quite reasonable) you receive five varied beauty samples – some of which are high end, well known brands, some are just entering the market and others have been around for a while but aren’t that well known yet. Some products will be miniature sample sizes, others will actually be full size products. And the other bonus? Anything you really like can be purchased from the main retailer at a discounted price once it’s been sampled.

I subscribed in July and was put on the waiting list for this month’s (patience is not a virtue of mine) and when it finally arrived this is what I got…







 

 

 

 

 

 

Out of everything, the thing I loved the most was the HD Brows kit – a versatile product that can be used to fill out the brows (hello overplucking nightmares) or more simply as eyeshadow. I won’t lie, the shampoo sample didn’t even touch the majority of my hair (but did smell nice), and if it wasn’t for the fact that Liz Earle got her mitts into me last month with her Cleanse and Polish Hot Cloth Cleanser then I’d probably rave about the Omorovicza Thermal Cleansing Balm.

Overall this is a pretty impressive deal and even though I did promise myself I’d stop after one subscription, well, I lied. I’m having another. (And don’t even get me started on the whole packaging conundrum – do I recycle the box/do I not recycle the box and if so which freaking bin does it even go in? Seriously.)





Leave a Reply

