Magic minerals

Ironically, for one who uses/buys/lusts after beauty products as much as I do, I have to confess I’ve never actually given mineral make-up a road test. I know, I know.

So when the opportunity to try out a new brand made entirely of the mineral stuff came along I jumped at the chance. And this isn’t just any new make up launch ladies, it’s the launch of a brand co-founded by Kimberly Wyatt, of Pussycat Doll fame.

Along with Scottish business partner Laura McComiskie, founder of skincare line Love The Planet, Kimberly has launched BM Beauty, an all-encompassing range of mineral foundations, blushes, bronzers, concealers and finishing powders, as well as vibrant eyeshadows, mascaras and lip glosses.

In a nutshell, the BM Beauty range is high fashion, natural and cruelty free, not to mention vegetarian and vegan friendly. The products even have the stamp of approval from the BUAV.

Animal-friendly attributes aside however, what got me interested was the huge list of skin-friendly ingredients. I’ve resigned myself to the fact that I’ll probably still have an acne-fest of a face that rivals any teenager when I’m 50 (God forbid), so I was more than intrigued when I saw that all of the foundations in this range contain zinc, a natural anti-inflammatory which is great for spot-prone skin like mine. Plus, mineral make-up is far less likely to clog up your skin throughout the day, so you can keep it well topped up without feeling overly done up. Bonus.

BM Beauty also scores highly with me for being free from parabens, synthetic dyes and fragrances. Since reading up on parabens a while ago I’ve been careful to ensure that any moisturiser I choose now is free of them, so using a make-up range that follows suit is definitely a must.

I was lucky enough to be able to try out these gorgeous eye shadows from the range, and I certainly wasn’t disappointed. The best bit? They’re nice and light for the daytime, which meant I could wear them to work and not feel too made up, but come night time/weekends when I wanted a more dramatic look I simply mixed whichever one took my fancy with a dab of water before applying and the colour intensified ten-fold.

Dusty Road

Platinum Tiara

Her Majesty

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Dusty Road and Platinum Tiara are now my weapons of choice for a subtle daytime look, but Her Majesty wins hands down whenever I need something a little bit different for the weekend. And I’ve tried it out as a blusher, for which by the way, it works just as well.

 

 

 

If BM Beauty floats your boat, then check out the entire range here: www.bmbeauty.com, where you can also watch video tutorials to help you get the most out of the products. The range will be hitting selected outlets nationwide later in the year, so keep a well made-up eye out!

One thought on “Magic minerals

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Magic minerals | Beauty for all Budgets -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

