Want clear skin the easy way?

Melting Cleansing Gel, £19.40 for 125ml

When I’m hungover, my skin is undoubtedly at its worst; dry, itchy, blotchy and (worst of all) shiny.

So what better time than this to put the rescuing effects of a particularly luxurious face wash to the test I ask you?

Last Sunday, after waking from a night of er, ‘celebrations’ (for want of a prettier way to say ‘I drank Smirnoff out of profits’), my skin was definitely crying out for a whole lot of TLC.

Rather handy then, that I’d just been sent a lifeline from Elemis in the shape of their new Melting Cleansing Gel face wash. Not content with being an average lather-up-and-slap-it-on type of face cleanser, this clever new product is designed to clean your face in two simple steps, with minimal mess and fuss. Perfect. Because, quite frankly, the less I have to do to achieve the perfect skin in the shortest amount of time, the better.

How it works is fairly straightforward; you simply smooth the delicious, citrus-scented gel all over your face, give it a little massage, then dip your fingers into some warm water and work it all in. The water reacts with the gel to create a soft milk which can then be quickly and easily wiped away.

I don’t know about anyone else, but I’m majorly excited (probably a little too excited, in fact) about the prospect of being able to wash my face without having to actually get it soaking wet. It’s genius, and makes choosing a multi-purpose cleanser to take away on holiday with me later this year so much easier.

Obviously with such products – and the fact I have incredibly sensitive skin – it’s always essential to check out all the ingredients, and this certainly boasts an impressive selection; light and golden Argan Oil, mattifying Rice Silk, lipid-rich Assai Fruit and anti-oxidant Rosemary. Put simply, this will pick up dirt and loosen grime to cleanse at a deep level.

I have to be honest, I’m always a bit skeptical when it comes to any kind of face wash or cleanser (given that so many send my skin into overdrive), but I was seriously impressed by how clean and fresh I looked and felt after using this. It genuinely did brighten, tighten and moisturise my face, and the uplifting citrus scent made me feel more refreshed and a lot less like I’d been up all night drinking the anti-christ of all things good-skin-related.

What I have to confess to liking most about this product though – and this might be shallow, but if you’ve ever had bad skin you’ll understand where I’m coming from – was that it allowed me to go make-up free all day and still look half-decent. Granted, I wasn’t leaving the house (read, going within 2 feet of the fridge) all day, but whenever I caught sight of myself I was pleased to see that I didn’t look quite so bad as I normally would, all things considered.

The real test, however, has been keeping the routine up this week; my theory being that if the Melting Cleansing Gel can make me look human on a hangover, then it’s got to make my regular skin look pretty much like the stuff dreams are made of right? And so far, so good. All in all I appear to be less shiny and look slightly more (dare I say it) radiant.

So would I recommend this to a friend? Yes, most definitely. Used on a daily basis, this product will enhance the look and feel of your skin. I like it so much I’ve even ditched my primer, and that’s saying something.

Yes, it’s slightly more pricey than some other cleansing products out there, but sometimes in life you just want to buy something that does exactly what it says on the pretty, white packaging. And this certainly does.

Leave a Reply

